Sacheli · Movement disorders : official journal of the Movement Disorder Society 2019 · randomized controlled trial · n=35

Exercise increases caudate dopamine release and ventral striatal activation in Parkinson's disease.

Cited 197 times in the scientific literature.

Level 2 - randomized trial

Individual randomized controlled trial

PubMed 31584222 · doi:10.1002/mds.27865 · record verified 2026-08-31

What was done

Thirty-five patients with Parkinson's disease were randomly assigned to a 36-session aerobic exercise program or a control intervention. Participants underwent functional magnetic resonance imaging (fMRI) during a reward anticipation task pre- and post-intervention to assess ventral striatal activation. A subset (n = 25) underwent [11C]raclopride positron emission tomography (PET) paired with repetitive transcranial magnetic stimulation (rTMS) to evaluate evoked dorsal striatal dopamine release. All participants completed motor (MDS-UPDRS III, finger tapping, Timed Up and Go) and non-motor assessments (apathy, depression, reaction time, affect, Trail Making, MoCA).

What was found

The aerobic exercise group demonstrated increased ventral striatal activation during fMRI reward anticipation at 75% reward probability (P = 0.01). On PET imaging, the exercise group showed increased rTMS-evoked dopamine release in the caudate nucleus (P = 0.04) and increased baseline nondisplaceable binding potential in the posterior putamen of the less affected hemisphere (P = 0.03). Specific numerical values for imaging metrics and clinical test scores were not reported in the abstract.

Why it matters

This trial provides direct neuroimaging evidence in humans that aerobic exercise induces functional mesolimbic activation and increases striatal dopamine release, supporting corticostriatal plasticity as a neurobiological mechanism underlying exercise benefits in Parkinson's disease.

Limits

The sample size was small (n = 35 total, n = 25 for PET), limiting power and generalizability. The abstract does not specify the control intervention details, blinded outcome assessment, or the quantitative clinical motor and cognitive outcomes.

Cited by